• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Newbie (1 Viewer)

Hello all,
I'm new to photography and have purchased my first camera which is a nikon p1000. I know nothing about camera setting, so would love a little help on setting it up....I love bird watching but would like to capture great pictures to look at.....any help would be really appreciated..
thanks
Daren

Hi there and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum (y)
We're glad you found us and please join in wherever you like. ;)

I'm going to move your thread to the Nikon section of the Forum and hopefully you'll get some help.

Had mine since they came on the market. Never any problems with it, I tend to use Bird setting. This is basically auto with multishot (up to 7 ) and preset zoom. I set the zoom to 500mm but in use you can just zoom in and out to suit yourself. Most times I do a burst of 3 or 4 shots of birds.

Not much more to say really, the Snap back button is very handy for picking up a small object, I set mine to medium.

I have also removed the hood from the front of lens and attach the lens cover with a cord so I can unsnap it and let it hang while walking about, kept missing shots while removing it and then what to do with it :)
I use the manual ring a lot, especially for birds on water or on the ground at any distance, that can be set for more or less sparkling, but is very usefull for birds in trees or bushes.

Forgot to add, makes a good telescope :) :)

Superb camera, solid as a rock.

Den