• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birdbooks and advice for Kenya (1 Viewer)

Expiry

I'm off to Kenya in November for my honeymoon. I have safaris booked in Tsavo East, Masai Mara and Aberdare parks. Then a 10 day stay by the beach in Ukunda.

I could do with a field guide to take with me, as I'm not an absolute expert on birds, though I do know more than the average Joe.

If any of you have any suggestions, other than what's already on here, then that would be really appreciated.

Also, is there anywhere that I really should go/ do/ see?

And finally, what equipment do you recommend I take? i have a decent pair of binoculars, a dslr with a 300mm and a 500mm lens. Should I also take my telescope or is that a bit of overkill?

I promise to post lots of exciting photos when I'm back in return for any advice or tips you have.

Jamie.

Welcome to Birdforum! I am afraid that Africa is not the continent I know anything about, so hopefully, someone else will come by ;)

Niels

Welcome to BirdForum! Kenya seems like an almost impossible place to go for a honeymoon. I would definitely get myself in trouble by paying too much attention to the birds! Tsavo, the Mara, and the Aberadares seem like a good cross section of the country though for a short trip. If you're looking to add more, try Mt. Kenya, Kakamega, or Malindi instead of Ukunda. Malindi is slightly further north and closer the the Arabuke-Sokoke Reserve for some absolutely fantastic birding (nice beach resorts for a honeymoon as well). I'm sure you'll have a great time though regardless of where you go!

Cheers,
Benji