• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
Where premium quality meets exceptional value. ZEISS Conquest HDX.

Corsica, 50 years on (1 Viewer)

Richard Prior

Halfway up an Alp
Europe
This month marks exactly 50 years since my only previous visit to Corsica and almost 34 years since my wife’s only trip to the Scented Isle so it was about time for a mutual second holiday there! Back in 1974 I was a student and had travelled with a girlfriend from UK to Nice on Dan Air flights (Comet 4C outbound and a Boeing 707-321 for the return for you plane fans :) ) at silly NUS Travel prices, no wonder they folded soon after! Rucksack stuffed with tent, sleeping bag and other camping stuff meant I didn’t even take my binoculars with me and after all this time I remember only my first sighting of Dolphin, a skulking sylvia warbler with a piercing red eye in a bush and the amazing railway down through the island to Ajaccio to get the ferry back to Nice.

Five decades later things were going to be a bit more comfortable, no flights involved either. Although we live in France, our nearest access to the Mediterranean is in Italy so we booked our little Fiat Panda onto the Savone to Bastia ferry for an overnight crossing (sleeping in a cabin this time rather than on a corridor floor as in 1974!). 4 days before our scheduled departure we got an email from Corsica Ferries telling us that crossing was cancelled and proposing alternative routes, I took an executive decision and plumped for Livourne to Bastia (going down to Toulon on the French coast might have been a better idea I was gently advised later:rolleyes:…).