• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Possible Kamchatka Gull in CA (1 Viewer)

markseth

So I know this is a long shot but...while birding today in Jenner CA I noticed a "biggish" Mew Gull. I watched it for a while and noted a sloping forehead and a bigger then normal bill. A wave came in and I got some flight photos. Not the best. Now I love birding but I don't entirely have the lingo down. Mirrors and tounge and stuff like that I'm still learning..lol. but I didn't notice that P8 was almost completely black which appears to be a key feature in identifying Kamchatka Gull from the more common brachyrhynchus Mew Gull. I read this article http://gull-research.org/papers/papers8/2016CommonGulls_AdriaensGibbins.pdf and attempted to follow the table laid out for identification. It was somewhat difficult and I am unsure if my photos are good enough to ID the bird from the primaries. I do believe using the article and table points to Kamchatka, but I'm not totally certain. Was looking for some help here. Thanks!!2021-01-30_09-46-34.jpg2021-01-30_09-46-24.jpg2021-01-30_09-46-19.jpg2021-01-30_09-46-12.jpg2021-01-30_09-46-01.jpg2021-01-30_09-45-42.jpg2021-01-30_09-45-16.jpg

Whilst I do not have the same expertise as Smiths (as PA is known on BF), I have spent more time than is healthy looking at Common/Mew Gulls - largely from a NW European perspective.