• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Ceredigion Birding (1 Viewer)

mcmerlin

Hey all, theres absolutely jack squat on here about birding in this beautiful and wild welsh county. well im a student at aberystwyth and i do a fair bit of birding, and often see interesting birds even when im not birding. So from now on i shall be posting interesting stuff i see, and birding sessions, on here. hopefully some of you other ceredigion birders will do the same- it will be great to find out more about the birds and the birding sites around here.

i'll start off with what i saw today- it was wet, windy and horrible and i was up at llanbadarn campus, aber and walked back to town. all i saw was a Dunnock on campus. LOL. but there will be far more exciting stuff to come.

Hi there.I used to live in Ceredigion (Rhydlewis?)and its a stunning part of the country.I found that a good place,especially waders,was the shingle beach at Aberaeron.

oh yeah? what waders do you get there, mike? the beaches at aber are good for waders too, and i have seen and photographed oystercatcher, ringed plover, turnstone and Purple sandpiper(abers speciality wader). ive also heard that whimbrel turn up on tanwylbwlch beach but ive yet to see them.

i usually go to aber on a yearly trip with the local bird club, we go to Cors Caron NNR and then go over to aber to see the purple sands and we also try for chough but havnt had success the last few times. we used to see then over by the tram thing that goes up that hill. Are they still about?