• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Where did my Robin go? (2 Viewers)

Mock-turtle

Hi all!

I'm no bird expert! In fact, I know pretty much nothing on the subject, so I just joined this site to ask you more knowledgable people my question.

I feed the birds in my garden, just scraps etc. Well, I guess I unwittingly started to tame a little robin because this little bird began to make itself known to me. I started to specifically look out for him. I would throw him bits of food and he started to come very close to me. When I drove into the driveway he would land on my car and he sat on my windowsill when I done the dishes. I could actually whistle and this little robin would soon show up. Finally, I got him eating out of my hand. What a thrill!

Suddenly, this little robin stopped showing up as frequently. He doesn't show when I whistle. Then, on Monday, I was surprised to look out the window and see two robins, side by side. I know they're territorial, and since I noticed these two, I think it is the untamed robin that frequents my garden, flying away when I approach and paying no heed to me.

So, my question is, where has my robin gone? Has this smaller one claimed my garden as it's own territory? Has the very bad rain kept him away? Is he gone for good?

I sunk a lot of time and effort into taking my robin, and had grown very fond of him. I would be very interested in your thoughts. Thanks in advance.

Welcome to Birdforum!