• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello from Texas (1 Viewer)

Steve Gross

Hello, everyone. I'm looking forward to being a part of this community.

I'm a fairly serious birder. I do Christmas Bird Counts, Breeding Bird Surveys, and I've done survey work on an endangered species (the Black-capped Vireo) in central Texas.

I love sharing birds with others (I'm a teacher and perhaps I just can't help myself). I also photograph birds and had one of my photos published in "Birder's World" magazine this last year. I've birded in the Rocky Mountain West, Alaska, Washington state, and Arizona. I had a trip planned to Scotland a few summers ago, but the Foot and Mouth problems led my to postpone my trip.

I've read a fair amount about British birders and birding (Bill Oddie, Mark Cocker's new book), and look forward to conversing with you in in these forums (fora? I've forgotten my Latin). I'm very interested in what goes on 'over there,' and would love to share my US adventures with you all.

Good birding,

Steve Gross
Houston, TX, USA

Hi Steve,

I'm a newbee myself, but welcome aboard. Would love to see your photos. I live in Utah. I lived in San Antonio for a year while I completed my Master's degree, but only did a little birding while there. Can you post the "Birder's World" photo?

Hi Steve Gross,

Welcome to Bird Forum. I lived and worked in Houston, TX, way back in 1955. At that time "Birding" was unbeknown to me but 45+ years makes a big difference. Hope to see many of your photos posted at BirdForum soon!

Welcome to Birdforum, Steve :t: