• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Meopta dilemna (1 Viewer)

FrankD

I own a Meopta Hermes I 70 mm spotting scope. I picked it up earlier this year from the local Cabelas in their "bargain cave". It has served me faithfully for the last 5 months. This past weekend I was using it and the eyepiece focus and zoom adjustments started to stiffen up to the point where I have extreme difficulty turning them. I have no experience with actually fixing optical instruments so I left things well enough alone. However, it has pretty much left the scope unusable.

I went online to check out the major optics retailers and Ebay to see if I could find another 15-45x eyepiece for this scope. Everywhere I looked I was unable to find this particular product. I believe the scope has been discontinued from the Meopta lineup and accessories/parts are becoming hard to come by.

I emailed three major optics retailers to see if they had any in stock despite their website info. One of them, Eagle Optics, replied in the negative. The others I have yet to hear from. I also emailed Meopta USA and Meopta in the Czech Republic but have not heard anything from either of them. Lastly I called Meopta USA (as prompted by the nice young woman at Eagle Optics) but had to leave a voicemail. I have not heard back from that gentleman either.

My question is what I should do at this point. Should I continue to try to find another eyepiece for the scope or should I put the scope body up on Ebay for sale and use the money to finance a new one?

Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.