• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Brecon beacons in April (1 Viewer)

dawny

I am fairly new to birding and would like to see some birds I'm unlikely to see in my home county of Essex. I will be going to the Brecon Beacons for a week in April (staying near Brecon)- does anyone know the best places to visit to see birds and what might be around at that time of year? I'd love to see a red kite and plan to go to one of the red kite centers - is there any difference between them?

Thanks

If your after a couple of beacon specials then being in the right place is rather important. I run the walks for the gwent ornithological society and we have a walk at Craig Cerrig Glisiad NNR near brecon to see Ring Ouzel, peregrine, raven and red kite. The walks on Sat 18th April so if you about then you are most welcome to come along. A good website to keep an eye on it www.brecknockbirds.co.uk which covers the brecon beacons. details of the walk are on www.gwentbirds.org.uk

As far as Kites go, Gigrin Farm is probably the best for shear numbers.

Last edited:
You can't go wrong with a trip to Gigrin - about an hour North from Brecon.

Once you've made it to the Beacons just keep looking upish and you'll see Kites! Luke knows the area much better than I and I'd recommend one of his walks if you are around for that weekend as you'll certainly benefit from some local knowledge.

Red Kites