• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birding in the Pocono's - Pennsylvania (1 Viewer)

PONYRCR

This summer we are attending a family reunion in the Pocono's in Pennsylvania.

I'm really looking forward to this as it will give me a chance to see lots of birds I don't get to see living in Southern California.

I've bought several field guides for birds in Pennsylvania, but is anyone familiar with the Poconos?

What kinds of birds can I expect to see while we are there?

I am not an expert on the Poconos, but we drive through there at least 5-6 times a year. The best place is the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. You have, of course, the Delaware river, and there is forest all around. Depending on when in the summer, I would keep an eye out for all the eastern warblers, thrushes, those types. And then along the river proper you are bound to see Bald Eagles, kingfishers, and a number of other species like Kingbirds, etc. Those are who I would study up on. You really have to look for secluded places though. The Poconos, as far as I am concerned, is turning into a real touristy eyesore. But along the Delaware, it still seems pretty decent.

Have a good trip!

Elizabeth

www.peec.org is the web address for a site that will provide most of the common birds of eastern PA. On the NJ side, be sure to drive Old Mine Road through the Water Gap for breeding warblers.
I know nothing about this: http://www.audubonslehigh.org/, but it may prove useful.
Enjoy your visit!

PONYRCR said: