• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Apertures back to front? (1 Viewer)

pete schofield

Hi all
I have been using a coolpix 995 for about 18 months but only for digi-scoping and previous to this used nikon slr's. On my recommendation my wife (also uses nikon slr) bought a 4500.

So here's one from the wife that I couldn't answer.

Why when zooming does the aperture get smaller as you zoom in and larger as you zoom out?

Now I am no expert but on all the zoom lenses I have used the opposite is true i.e. 100-300 zoom lens max aperture at 100 F4 at 300 F6.

Because I have only used mine for digi-scoping this has not bothered me, needing max shutter speeds at all times but she who must be obeyed uses her camera mainly for point and shoot and landscapes therefore requiring max depth of field.

Also how come we can only get upto F10 aperture on a digital or is it the same as with the lens add about a third (F10 = F16) or is it that digital technology just isn't good enough yet.

Hope someone can answer this as her indoors is not talking to me (some may say that's an advantage).

Happy Birding
Pete

o:D

Pete

According to the spec, the Nikon 4500 has a maximum aperture of f2.6 at the wide end going down to f5.1 at the telephoto end so that should accord with what you expect.