• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

zoom or fixed (2 Viewers)

gary_2503

HELP!!! zoom or fixed lens

I have just recently bought a kowa tsn- 823 and was wondering if you guys could give me advice on whice lens to get. There is a choice of 32X, 20x-60x zoom lens or a 50X. It would be a great help if you reply because i am just new at this and want to get it right.:t:

Last edited:
Hi Gary

I used to have a Kowa tsn822 I found the best eyepiece to use for digiscoping was the 32x,you might find the 50x a bit to much magnification.

Regards Stevo :t: 3:)

will the 32X be as good as the 20X-60X for general birdwatching? Also is the zoom lens a worthwhile investment?what are the advantages and disadvantages?

The 32x will be a good choice for birdwatching,it`s always handy to have a higher magnification eyepiece such as the 20x-60x.For digiscoping the 32x will probably be better as it`s a wide angle eyepiece & will lessen vignetting.You could use the zoom eyepiece for digiscoping,but every time you wanted to change magnification you would have to slacken the screws on the digiscoping adapter,plus because the outer part of the eyepiece rotates you might have trouble lining the subject up.For general birding the zoom is optically very good especially as youre using it with a flourite scope.Hope this helps.

Regards Stevo.

Nah, go for the zoom Gary - much more versatile and any loss of quality for digiscoping will be negligable. Just look at mine and Pete's results (albeit from a Leica televid and Swarovski ATS) at:
www.iombirding.co.uk