• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Zeiss Terra 8x25 Chinese production - holding up? (1 Viewer)

Jaywalk

United States
I've been reading old posts about the value that the Terra brings to the table. Then around 2020 people grew concerned that the quality would drop with the movement of production to China.

How is the equality holding up now in 2023, nearly 2024?

Last edited:
I have no experience of the MIJ one personally but my MIC Terra 8x25 has been perfect. I bought it in January and it has survived all that the Welsh weather can throw at it....and me throwing it in a rucksack.

A friend has the original MIJ one and apart from the country of origin stamp I cannot see any difference whatsoever from a build or optical quality perspective and he is of the same opinion. Many shudder at the thought of a MIC bino, I personally couldn't give a flying whotsit.

It is a cracking little thing. I bought it on a whim as Zeiss were running a trade-in programme but I would buy it again should it go AWOL.

Aren't they made by Kamakura in their Chinese plant? They do have production facilities in China. And if other companies like Casio are anything to judge by, they will have a "redundancy policy" in place which means that different sites have to deliver the same quality.

Aren't they made by Kamakura in their Chinese plant? They do have production facilities in China. And if other companies like Casio are anything to judge by, they will have a "redundancy policy" in place which means that different sites have to deliver the same quality.