• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Vortex 8x32 Razor HD (1 Viewer)

mikefitz6

Vortex 8x42 Razor HD

I thought I would share a few impressions. Take these with a grain of salt because I have no extensive experience testing binoculars. I have the Nikon 8x32 SE and the 10x42 SE and the Pentax DCF WP 8x42 just did not impress anymore. I really needed a higher quality waterproof 8x42 (don't apply logic to the last statement) so I went to look at the Swarovski SLC HD and the Swarovision. The store only had the 8.5x42 SV and I could see right away the increased sharpness and the color popped more than the poor old Pentax, but the price!!

The salesman said "take a look at these" and pulled out the Vortex.

Initial snap impressions.

Vortex and SV are both sharper than Pentax as expected. The Vortex seemed brighter than the SV - I find that hard to believe, but it was my impression. Both were brighter than the Pentax and the colors pop noticably more than the Pentax. I believe I can see some CA in the Pentax, but not in the Vortex. The Vortex did not seem as well built as the SV. SV was more solid and I liked the ergonomics better.

With a 30 day return policy, I figured I would grab the Vortex and take them home. (Only one set new in the box and the demos were left.)