• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Spike in star test (question) (1 Viewer)

4th_point

United States
Hello, my name is Jason and I'm a new member. I have really enjoyed and benefited from the information posted at Bird Forum. Especially ways to evaluate optics at home. Thank you for providing this information!

I recently purchased two Fieldscopes (angled) and have been performing star tests indoors with LED light (limited distance, however) and outdoors with the brightest star(s) that are viewable at my location. I'm still new to this procedure so I'm not ready to draw any conclusions just yet. However, with one scope I see a very pronounced spike radiating from the 10 to 11 o'clock position in the inside focus condition with just a handful of rings in the pattern. When outside of focus, I don't notice it.

Is there anything that I can look for or inspect? I looked inside the scope body with bright light, made sure exterior lens surfaces are clean, swapped eyepieces between scopes, allowed scope to acclimate to temperature, etc. That spike is always present, although I "think" it is more pronounced the warmer the temperature. I also searched the forum and other sites, but didn't see much on single spikes.

Thanks,

Jason