• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Rough Legged Buzzard (1 Viewer)

Yashca

I know that the Rough-Legged Buzzard has been a long stayer around the Cement Works at South Ferriby, and I've got an opportunity to see it on Saturday.

I hadn't gone to see it before because I'm new to birding anyway, and I still haven't yet developed the skills required to spot birds of prey with any regularly.

But I am spending this week at the extreme south of East Yorkshire, so it wouldn't be to much of a jump for me to go have a look around.

Just wondered if anyone could give me any advice about finding it. I know it is near the cement works, but it looks a pretty big site and I don't know it at all. Just wondered if there is a specific spot (or a few!) or specific times it can be seen. I really don't know the area at all, so the more detailed advice you can give me, the better!

Also, I heard that a pair of Long-Tailed Ducks has been seen at Barton Clay Pits. I've never been there either, how big is the site? How many pools? I haven't been able to find a map or anything, and I'm wondering how easy they will be to find.

Thanks for any advice any one can give me - it could result in two new lifers for me!

not a lot of help but the Rough-legged Buzzard was on fence just West of cement works this was on the 12 feb.
as to
Barton Clay Pits they are almost under the humber bridge and very close to farr ings and along the same road .
hope that hepls a little.
Rob.

Hi Yashca
Rough-legged Buzzard still just west of cement works yesterday.