• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Orange-Fronted Parakeets (Conures) In San Blas? (3 Viewers)

I will be visiting San Blas, Nayarit in January, 2010. I have a particular interest in viewing Orange-Fronted Parakeets (aka Orange-Fronted or Half-Moon Conures). Before going there I will be purchasing Howell's [I]A Bird-Finding Guide to Mexico[/I]. Above and beyond that resource, any suggestions where in San Blas and its environs that species may be observed? I am hoping to get good and long looks at them.

Hi!

I'm from Holland and I'm an exchange student at the UNAM in Mexico-City. I visited San Blas 2 weeks ago. I'm not quite sure if Orange-fronted Parakeet occurs in San Blas, but according to Steve Howell's 'A Guide to the Birds of Mexico and Northern Central America', San Blas is part of Orange-fronted Parakeet's range. However, things changed rapidly over the last ten years, which is mostly a bad thing, but partially a good thing, since species such as Snail Kite and Limpkin have settled in the region and now occur frequently, they're actually quite common.