• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Lyme Regis Birding - or an even quieter Backwater (1 Viewer)

Roger Boswell

Hi,

It is always nice to drive over to Seaton and see the many different birds in the Axe valley. However, without climbing into a car I can walk along the Lim, visit the Cobb or beaches in Lyme and explore the countryside around Uplyme or Ware cliffs and the Undercliff.

I am not an expert, but am beginning to look a little harder at anything that flies past and have been quite surprised how many different species I have found in this area.

This year in particular I have seen Sanderling, Dunlins, Knot, Turnstones and Ringed Plovers on Monmouth beach as well as the Purple Sandpipers on the Cobb. There have also been Razorbils, Guillemots and Great Crested Grebes in the sea with Buzzards, Kestrels, Stonechats and Willow Warblers in the scrub behind Monmouth Beach. On the Lim there have been Dippers and Grey Wagtails, with Pied Wagtails and Rock Pipits on the shore. There has even been the occassional Wheatear posing on the Cobb. Ware cliffs supports a good collection of woodland birds, and I am sure there are many more that I miss.

One advantage of birding at Lyme is that you can often get very near to the birds. Purple Sandpipers are often not more than 6ft away and by sitting on Monmouth beach all the waders can be pushed towards you by the incomming tide - all ideal for photography.