• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Kowa mid-sized binoculars? (1 Viewer)

dvboy

I have been out of the binocular game for a few years,decided i wanted a single "do it all" mid sized bino for hiking and maybe the odd sporting event.I did some research and ended up ordering the 6.5x32.Initially I was was satisfied with the brief time I had played with them,but after my first hike not so much.I was good with the build quality,they were bright and sharp enough in the middle area(outside blur didn't bother me).I am not a bino expert by any means,but what bothered me about the 6.5x32's is there seemed to be some kind of funky distortion or something that looked un natural when viewing?Not sure how to describe it,but it was enough for me to take advantage of the stores return policy.It was recommended to give the Genesis 8x33 a try,so they are on there way.Has anyone done a direct comparison of these two?I am hoping this is where it ends for me,but in the back of my head I'm thinking a larger 8x42 sized binocular might be more comfortable to my eyes?

I compared the Kowa 6.5x32 and 8x32 -- the 8x32 has a larger sweet spot and less of the mentioned distortion. I guess you mean the rolling ball effect when scanning the scenery? Unfortunately it seems that many of the low powered wide angle binos have it. I compared the Kowa 6.5x32 and APM 6x30 -- both have those distortions. It doesn't bother me personally but I think some people might get sea-sick when panning.