• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

How To Get Started? (2 Viewers)

lord_dethan

Greets friends,

I am a totally newbie in this birding and I can't seems to find a birder that can guide me here in Melaka.

I am kinda lost, nevertheless I am going to purchase a 500mm lens soon to fulfill my new hobby. I am going for Tamron 200-500mm lens. Will perform my purchase somewhere in the next couple of weeks. Nevertheless, without proper guidance, having lens & binocular can't forward me anywhere in this field.

I am hoping that you guys can help me if you know someone from Melaka that into birding even so that I may approach him/her for us to go birding together. Is there any club or group that I may join? What should be the basic things needed to become a birder? Any books or infos that I can have to get started? :h?: Well, I guess that I am lost ....

We do have quite a few members in Malaysia, but not sure how they are distance wise away from you. I have done a search in the gallery with "Malaysia" and here are the results
http://www.birdforum.net/gallery/search.php?searchid=76332

This might help to find other people that are birding from Malaysia, results for what equipment they use and locations and of course what birds you may see.

It might be worthwhile checking the Oriental Birdclub out.
http://www.orientalbirdclub.org/club/about.html

Hi there lord_dethan,
We are in Selangor - so not too far from Melaka really. We've only been in Malaysia for about a year but we've been to a few good birding places and met a couple of local birders.