• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Football Stadium Plans Weymouth RSPB Lodmoor (1 Viewer)

Weymouth

Hi, I have joined just to try and gain some specific information about the plans that builders in Weymouth are going to put forward to move Weymouth Football Club, to an area just to the left (as you look from the beach road) of the RSPB Lodmoor bird reserve. Those of you that know the area, it is the area inbetween the car park and the recycling centre.

As you are probably aware this area has been particularly busy this year, although I am no expert but I have seen the amount of visitors, and there have been hundreds.

Obviously it goes without saying there is bound to be disruption, especially during the building process and on match days, outside of that I wouldn't expect much activity really that would be significant.

But how much impact could that have on wildlife/birds having the odd period when it was extremely noisy do you think? My point is could it be actually worse that any noise is very intermittent, or the fact there is any noise at all bad enough? Statements like, oh the noise is only every couple of weeks or so, need to be addressed with facts, that's my angle.

The plans believe it or not actually include a bird hide, something I presume is more of an attempt to pacify rather than be of any real use, but I stand to be corrected on that?

Now we know there are other problems with the area, flooding, recycling, I am just trying to find out effect on wildlife really, and what you think the reaction might be from bird watchers?