• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Erewash Meadows (1 Viewer)

ChrisLuv

Improving Birder
I'm relatively new to birding and recently found this superb reserve - looks vastly underwatched and its only a mile or so from my house. Thought I'd start a thread to extol the merits of the place. Notts Birders have an excellent description here - though don't be discouraged most of the reserve is in Derbyshire (if you just want derbyshire ticks - then don't cross the river).

In the few weeks I've known the place I've mainly been visiting once a weekend, usually early in the morning and this has brought me 50 species so far, with only lapwing on the wader front - but I'd expect lots more to come when the water levels go down.

I had a great day there a few days ago when I caught up with two lifers in the same bush - Common Redstart and Spotted flycatcher. I managed to stick around and get some nice photos (for my equipment anyway). I'm very pleased as they are two birds that I always use as example why I'm still a novice - "I haven't even seen a spotted flycatcher!", but now they're in the bag then I just need Siskin, Redpoll and Hobby to have seen all the "common" UK birds I can expect to see locally this year - all of which should be possible at Erewash Meadows.

Does anyone else watch this area fairly regularly?

Cheers,
Chris

Attachments

• P1030990copy.JPG
    P1030990copy.JPG
    77.9 KB · Views: 131
  • P1040016copy.JPG
    P1040016copy.JPG
    81.4 KB · Views: 142