• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

EO Ranger Plats - 8X32 vs 10X42 (1 Viewer)

Faulhorn

Relative newbie here and have thorougly enjoyed being educated by all your posts. Quick question for you pros regarding the Eagle Optics Ranger Platinum. Love to have any informed answers.

Comparing the 8X32 and 10X42, would the 10X42 have better resolution/clarity/contrast or wouldthe difference be primarily be only magnification?

And what about the 8X32 versus the 8X42? Would the primary difference be only brightness?

Thanks in advance for any answers.

Faulhorn

I have the 8x42 EORPC. The 42 should be brighter than the 32 in low-light conditions (woods, dusk), but otherwise you probably won't see much of a difference, and I doubt that you'll see any difference in resolution if both are collimated properly. I bought my EORPC 2-1/2 years ago from a Wild Birds Unlimited store, and at the time I compared the 8x42 & 10x42. With the 10x I thought I was losing more to shakiness than I was gaining from the increased magnification, so I bought the 8x. But that's just me. Only you can decide between 8x and 10x. Since I also use my birding binoculars for astronomy, where sheer aperture is important, I didn't even consider the 32mm models. The focus on my EORPC varies from quite fluid and smooth at 90F to almost unmoveable at 40F. If you can, check the focus to see if it'll be OK for you. I now mostly use my Zeiss 8x42 FL -- but that's another story. I use the EORPC to watch the hummingbird feeders and birdbath outside my library/computer room.

Dear Faulhorn,