• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Durham city kingfishers (1 Viewer)

antonio.b

Just wondering if anyone knows good sites for kingfishers in the durham city area. I live in gilesgate and Don't have a car to relying on walking or public transport. Thanks. DM for discretion if necessary.

Hi,

I am a student in Durham and have seen Kingfishers right in the city centre as well as Dippers.

The best bet for both of these species is to take the footpath along the river past Maiden castle for a few miles. The best area is a few hundred yards past the pub in Shincliffe.

Good pointers for the city centre Simmo. The whole length of the River Wear is good for Kingfishers and the species has benefitted considerably from cleaner water and milder winters. If you walk anywhere up or down river from Durham City, you'll stand a good chance of seeing one. Just pick a quiet stretch with not many people and try early in the day before disturbance, and you should hit lucky.

Mark

Thanks for the help. I'll give it a go. Lived in Durham my whole life and never seen one, although always suspected the Wear would have a few.

I heard the other day that one was showing on the river Wear at Sunderland Bridge (just north of Croxdale on the A167). Not confirmed as I haven't seen it myself. I'd also very much like to see (and photograph) Kingfishers.

I heard the other day that one was showing on the river Wear at Sunderland Bridge (just north of Croxdale on the A167). Not confirmed as I haven't seen it myself. I'd also very much like to see (and photograph) Kingfishers.