• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Dcr-250! (2 Viewers)

Ptarmi

Dick Glasgow
My DCR-250 just arrived this morning & although I've never used a Macro Lens before, I just had to strap it on to my new FZ150 & rush out to the garden!

WOW! .... it's certainly going to take me a while to get used to this new Lens, but there certainly is a whole new World waiting for me, out there! ;)

Anyone got any tips for a complete beginner?

Cheers,
Dick

Attachments

• P.150.macro.1.jpg
    P.150.macro.1.jpg
    80.3 KB · Views: 124
Had another go today, but just haven't worked out how to get up really close & personal yet.

Cheers,
Dick

Attachments

• P.150.mac.4.jpg
    P.150.mac.4.jpg
    120.4 KB · Views: 74
  • P.150.mac.3.JPG
    P.150.mac.3.JPG
    196.7 KB · Views: 87
  • P.150.mac.2.JPG
    P.150.mac.2.JPG
    271.3 KB · Views: 78
  • P.150.mac.5.JPG
    P.150.mac.5.JPG
    282.7 KB · Views: 85
  • P.150.mac.1.jpg
    P.150.mac.1.jpg
    65.6 KB · Views: 63
Nice start Dick. pic1 & pic5 standout for me. Those raynox are really a good call, give so much flexibility.

Something of multipurpose tool thats helped out alot is a stake.
A simple wooden stake maybe 23mm (inch) or so in diameter, perhaps 1.3 to 1.6 meters long (4-5 foot).

Does a number of jobs....
Drive it into ground angled away from plant, so as not to harm root structure
but close enough to gently tie off plant with soft pipe cleaner on those windy days for static floral shots.

Can use stake also to position homemade reflector to eliminate some those dark shadows we run into.