• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Eu. Sparrowhawk vs. Besra, India (1 Viewer)

Tiraya

San Diego CA
United Kingdom
Hi all,
Is it possible to distinguish these two species at this distance? This was at Lama Camp in Arunachal Pradesh, India. Both are reported fairly equally at this location.

original.jpeg

original.jpeg

original.jpeg

Plumage looks very wrong for Eurasian sparrowhawk: narrow pale tail-bars, heavily-marked underwing, weird non-uniform underbody.

I have no experience in the area at all, but it looks good for Crested Goshawk to me (but you may know better)
Based solely on a quick inaturalist and ebird check.... admittedly.

cheers,
G

I certainly do not know better, this was my first Asia trip and I did not adequately study everything. I do see some crested gos records...

I intended it only to emphasize my lack of experience: It could well be that some features -unknown to me- would easily rule out Crested Gos.

cheers,
Gerben

Last edited:
Hold on ; ) I think none of the more expert people around here have given their views....but they appear to be a tough duo, yes.

Hopefully someone will come by soon to give a more educated view.

True, this pair can be tricky but are readily separable given half decent images which, these are not! That said, despite the poor quality images, I am seeing 5 fingers and so would conclude Besra-Crested Goshawk shows 6 fingers.

Grahame

Grahame, does the tail pattern not "rule out" Besra according to other thoughts?

The second bird at a different location had far more appreciable views.

1694012743764.png
1694012737998.png