• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Einblickverhalten/ease of view FL 7x42 vs FL 8x32 (1 Viewer)

Comparison of Zeiss' Victory 7x42 T*FL, SFL 8x40 and SFL 8x30​

Preamble:​

This is my first ever test/comparative review.
I do not wear glasses.
I do not subscribe to old adage 'eat sheet, millions of flies can't be wrong'. Just because X number of others have no problem with something does not mean my issue with it is invalid. And vice versa.
I am not a newbie. I have used binoculars and scopes for nature and wildlife observation for around a decade now. Before that I had old, sometimes very crappy hand-me-downs, which I used occasionally to look at something in the distance. Since then I have (had) binoculars from Nikon, Bushnell, Swarovski, Zeiss, Vortex, Maven.

Ease of view / Einblickverhalten​

The FL is easily the best I have had yet. Pull it out of the bag, set it to my eyes and bang - it fits, it sits nicely and there is that georgeous view. This is very closely followed by the SFL 8x40, which to all intents and purposes is just as smooth. I expected the SFL 8x30 to be the same as its bigger sibling, but that had a little learning curve in finding the right adjustments and also in placement. The other two I just rest on my nose and/or put into my eye sockets, while the 8x30 needs to placed against the underside of the top of my eye socket (supraorbital margin?) at precisely the right distance or there will be black outs. I put these differences down to a combination of ER, eyecup diameter and EP (all in mm).

FL 7x42 16, 41, 6
SFL 8x40 18, 41, 5
SFL 8x30 18, 39, 3.8