• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Vortex Diamondback? (1 Viewer)

TweetBird

This is my first post, so please bear with me. Does anyone have experience with the Vortex Diamondback 8X32? In the store, they seemed much clearer than the 8X42, but the only review I read was pretty negative. I'm a very amateur birder seeking to improve. I live in Oregon, so low-light days are frequent. Other recommendations for lighter-weight bins in the under $200 range? Thanks so much.

Hi TweetBird.

Welcome to Bird Forum!

You are in the Zen-Ray Sub-Forum here and you should probably request a moderator to move your question about the Vortex's down to the "Vortex" Sub-Forum below or down to the "Binocular's" sub-forum where you will get all the advise you need or want.

I have the Diamondback 8 x 42. It is very good for it's price and there are many pleased users. There are 36 reviews of them (see the link below) and they average 5 stars so Vortex must be doing something right with them. They might be heavier than you like at 25 ounces but they will be very versatile as a "starter" binocular. If you like you can call Eagle Optics and ask them about their 30 day return policy.

http://www.eagleoptics.com/binoculars/vortex/vortex-diamondback-8x42-binocular

The Vortex 8 x 32 Diamondback is about 7 ounces lighter. It also has short eye relief if you wear glasses. I've never tried it. The 8 x 42 should be brighter than the 8 x 32 simply because it has larger exit pupils which will put more light into your pupils under darker conditions when your pupils are expanded.