• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

request help with identification Sparrowhawk sp. in Sharm, Egypt, December 2023 (1 Viewer)

Earnest lad

Please may I request advice.
I apologize for asking if it seems obvious, but against all odds, I am hoping for a Levant Sparrowhawk here. I have no experience with that species previously. I see the tail barring according to the field guide might suit Eurasian. However I can see what appears to besome dark wing tips that might indicate the Levant sort. However, the time of the year might not be right for this passage migrant.
Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• D3a-0474.JPG
    D3a-0474.JPG
    369.2 KB · Views: 58
  • D3a-0475.JPG
    D3a-0475.JPG
    279.5 KB · Views: 56
  • D3a-0476.JPG
    D3a-0476.JPG
    315.7 KB · Views: 47
  • D3a-0477.JPG
    D3a-0477.JPG
    289.3 KB · Views: 46
  • D3a-0478.JPG
    D3a-0478.JPG
    210 KB · Views: 48
  • D3a-0479.JPG
    D3a-0479.JPG
    248.4 KB · Views: 47
  • D3a-0480.JPG
    D3a-0480.JPG
    210 KB · Views: 49
  • D3a-0481.JPG
    D3a-0481.JPG
    261.1 KB · Views: 59
The best approach if you are hoping to convince the forum and yourself that you might have seen the more interesting of a pair of accipiter species is to post back-of-camera shots of blurry, distant originals.

Unfortunately your excellent shots leave no doubt that the bird in question is a Eurasian sparrowhawk

Cheers
James