• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

2003 Birding (1 Viewer)

Steve Gross

After two Christmas Bird counts and two day trips (I'm on holiday, as I'm a teacher), here's the bird list so far for the new year.

I dipped on Groove-billed Ani and Purple Sandpiper yesterday, but the inland birding has been very good. Rusty Blackbird, Winter Wren (UK's Wren), three Vermilion Flycatchers, Bald Eagle, 500 Sandhill Cranes (in two sightings),and Barred Owl have been the highlights so far:

Pied-billed Grebe
Eared Grebe
Double-crested Cormorant
Great Blue Heron
Great Egret
Tricolored Heron
Snowy Egret
Cattle Egret
Black-crowned Night-Heron
White Ibis
White-faced Ibis
Black-bellied Whistling-Duck
Greater White-fronted Goose
Snow Goose (~10000)
Ross's Goose (30)
Canada Goose
American Wigeon
Gadwall
Green-winged Teal
Mallard
Mottled Duck
Northern Pintail
Blue-winged Teal
Northern Shoveler
Ring-necked Duck
Common Goldeneye
Bufflehead
Ruddy Duck
Black Vulture
Turkey Vulture
Osprey
Bald Eagle
Northern Harrier
Sharp-shinned Hawk
Cooper's Hawk
Red-shouldered Hawk
White-tailed Hawk
Red-tailed Hawk
Crested Caracara
American Kestrel
Northern Bobwhite
Sandhill Crane
Common Moorhen
American Coot
Black-necked Stilt
Killdeer
Wilson's Snipe
Long-billed Dowitcher (~5000)
Long-billed Curlew
Greater Yellowlegs
Lesser Yellowlegs
Spotted Sandpiper
Sanderling
Least Sandpiper
Ring-billed Gull
Herring Gull
Laughing Gull
Royal Tern
Rock Dove
Mourning Dove
Inca Dove
Barred Owl
Red-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Sapsucker
Downy Woodpecker
Northern Flicker
Pileated Woodpecker
Eastern Phoebe
Vermilion Flycatcher