• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hoopoe in background of TV programme (1 Viewer)

RayMurray

Anyone who watched 'Countryfile' on BBC1 today may have noticed that during the 'Adam's Farm' section on his oil seed rape fields that there was a Hoopoe calling in the background.
I really don't think the BBC dub on extraneous wildlife sounds - so there may be a good local record out there for anyone who knows there the programme is filmed.

THANK YOU :t: I was watching it last night and Neil said I got this 'listening to the background noises' look on my face :-O I'm no expert on hoopoes but swore blind that there WAS one hooping away in the background :king:

Just glad I wasn't imagining it! :t:

I heard it too,unusual for them to call when on migration here,i just assumed it was a dubbed sound.

http://www.cotswoldfarmpark.co.uk/

Anyone else notice that stupid 'advert' that's on before most ITV dramas (Vera last night being one) - a couple on safari get their car driven by a baboon yet I'm sure it's a chimpanzee's noise dubbed over :smoke: I rant about it every time and it's driving Neil nuts!!! :-O

I also heard the Hoopoe on Countryfile last night & thought about starting a thread on here but then forgot, nice to see a few people heard it.

Yes, I commented to my wife "that's a Hoopoe in the backgound".

It would seem odd to have a soundtrack added, anyone got access to the BBC to find out?

A similar thread started recently about a Bee-eater call backing Hyacinth Bouquet....