• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Cruise around Med and Adriatic (1 Viewer)

trw

I have been cruising for several years and thoroughly recommend it to birdwatchers.You get the chance to do some real seawatching as well as seeing some intersting birds ashore.
Here is my report of a cruise around the Med and Adriatic on the Oriana this August.

The journey to and from the Straits of Gibralter was more interesting on the return journey especially the last day when there were at least 200 Gannets as we rounded the north west tip of France.Also 1 Little Gull,1 Great Shearwater and 4 Whales.The only positive i.d was a Fin Whale.

Cruising along the Portugese coast there were several Cory Shearwater,1 Great Skua and 4 Sooty Shearwater.

As we climbed the Fortress area of Malaga there was 1 Melodious Warbler,1 Rock Sparrow,4 Spanish Sparrow,1 Sardinian Warbler,4 Greenfinch,a flock of Goldfinch and Red Rump swallows and Plain Swift above.There were great numbers of noisy Monks Parakeet in the avenue of trees near the harbour exit.
There were Yellow Legged Gulls around the harbour area.

In Dubrovnik there were huge numbers of Alpine Swift especially off Lopud Island.I personally have never seen such huge numbers of Alpine Swift in one area.
In the harbour there were the usual Yellow Leggged Gulls and Medittearanean Gulls.

As we sailed into Venice there were large numbers of Yellow Legged Gulls,Barn Swallows and several Terns including Little Tern and Common Tern.There were Cormarants in abundance too. Italian Sparrows were seen at the eastern end of Venice in the park area.