• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Spotted-Bellied Quail? (1 Viewer)

Barnett

Spotted-Bellied Bobwhite?

I'm new to Post. I live and work in Costa Rica and bird here every chance I get. I'm origionally from Texas.

I noticied the Clements 5th Edition World List doesn't list the Spotted-bellied Bobwhite (perhaps lumped or merged with Crested Bobwhite) but most of the guidebooks and the latest 2004-2005 Costa Rica checklist form the CR Ornitologica society list the Spotted-bellied Quail and Crested as separate species.

Anyone help me with this?

thanks,

Lance

Last edited:
Hi, Lance! A warm welcome to you from all of us on staff here at BirdForum!

If you don't get an answer to your taxonomy question here in the "Say Hello" forum, you might want to repost it in the "Bird ID & Taxon Q&A" where I know someone there will be able to help. :t:

Neither the AOU nor their South American committee (SACC) recognize it as a full specie.

Ornitaxa (which keeps an update of the Sibley Monroe list) shows it as a likely candidate for splitting (incipient species) in the future:
Colinus cristatus leucopogon Spot-bellied Bobwhite

Hi Lance