• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

"Parades End" BBC Fish Eagle (1 Viewer)

amelia1730

Did anyone watch Parades End last night (Benedict Cumberpatch)? What was the bird shown as a Fish Eagle? Didn't seem to be quite right to me, but I'm no expert. Can someone enlighten me please?

I'm not saying this was a mistake but it always amuses me when they get it hopelessly wrong on TV & films where birds are concerned. Anyone remember any good ones?

Could have been worse, I was asked by a friend who was working on this series what bird footage they should be using. They'd come up with African fish eagle but my friend obviously had reservations about this. I'm a bit vague now of the details, but I seem to remember they wanted footage of a Fish eagle flying around the sea cliffs of Yorkshire. Looks like the author was using a bit of artistic licence as I'd guess an Osprey in the 20's would be a Mega. Thought about suggesting White tailed eagle , but to be honest it was just as unlikely.

'Fish eagle' was a valid alternative name for Osprey, as was 'fish hawk' and 'sea hawk'. I think the scene was set in August 1914, in Northumberland, when White-tailed Eagles were still breeding in Scotland (until 1916 in the west) and Ospreys were breeding regularly up to 1908, and then occasionally up to 1916. So an Osprey, referred to as a 'sea eagle' in Northumberland in late summer 1914 is actually 'right', as migrants would also have been passing through.