• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New to Moths :-) (1 Viewer)

SleepyLizard

Hi folks. I a complete newbie with moths. I have purchased the "Field Guide to the Moths of Great Britain and Ireland" by Waring and Townsend. However. I would really appreciate any help you can offer with the following three moths. I imagine they are all fairly common but I'm still quite confused at this stage of the game.

All were photographed in Easter-Ross in the north of Scotland and all in the last week. I have included my own guess at the ID although I'm no doubt way off :)

Hebrew Character (Orthosia gothica) I think???
http://web.onetel.net.uk/~haggis63/moth-1.jpg

Narrow-winged Pug (Eupithecia nanata) ???
8mm length X 18mm Wing span
http://web.onetel.net.uk/~haggis63/moth-2.jpg

I thought this was like the Yellow-ringed Carpet (Entephria flavicinctata)
Wings were about 18mm long.
http://web.onetel.net.uk/~haggis63/moth-3.jpg

BTW - how should I state measurements for moths?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Alan

Hi Alan and welcome to Bird Forum from all the Moderators and Admin. Staff.
I can't help you at the moment with any certainty at the moment as I'm stuck in work, but I can confirm the first one is definitely a Hebrew Character. If no-one else has confirmed the i.d. of the other two sp. I'll let you know tonight (say before 7pm).
As for measuring an insect, the wingspan should be wingtip to thorax (X2) along the costal edge + thorax width.
Hope this helps.