• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Have you tried these are they good... (1 Viewer)

new 2 this

I am seriously thinking of purchasing a book called 'RSPB Handbook of British Birds' as my house guide for looking up things like nesting details and breeding times of the year and moderately indepth information on common birds, I am new at birding and want a house reference, I feed the birds in my garden and watch from the warmth of my house (luxery hide I suppose lol) I have a young family who also enjoy the birds so something with lots of pictures is a must, I'd love to hear from anyone who has seen this book in the flesh and what they think of it.

The other item is a video called a 'A Celebration of Garden Birds' , has anyone seen this? What did you think of it? I am looking for something light that gives me basic information but more visual than anything, so I can become more familiar with the common birds that will most likely visit my garden, simular to the above book but something relaxing I can watch in the evenings that a stressed out hubby back from work can find relaxing at the same time. I don't ask much do I lol?

Thank you in advance for all your help

I have this book and would thoroughly recommend it.It can be used as a basic I.D guide but has much more information,like population estimates,average life-spans and food preferences.
All this for £9.99-Buy it!

Both books are excellent. Another good one for a home reference is the RSPB/AA 'complete book of british birds' I've often seen copies in charity shops for a couple of quid.