• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Excited to purchase Monarch 82ED (1 Viewer)

szk71

Well guys, I'm new to spotting scopes, but after reading a number of threads on this forum I have decided on the Nikon Monarch 82ED A. Got a good deal on a new unit. This will be used for wildlife viewing, astronomy, and digiscoping. Also got an additional eyepiece, the 24x / 30xW DS. So I guess if i have questions I'll post them here.

Thanks for all the info.

Are you sure about the extra eyepiece? I think the 24/30x W DS only fits the old field scopes. The only 30x eyepiece for the Monarch 82ED I'm aware of is the MEP-30-FS-MOA with an integrated reticle, not a desirable feature for most users.

We've probably read the same threads about this. The only negative appears to be the presence of excess lateral colour in the 20-60 eyepiece. The body can be bought separately in the UK, opening up numerous third party options, but I'm looking for a scope to work straight out of the box.

So I've ordered the 60mm version - if nothing else, to scratch an itch and see with my own eyes. I'll post my impressions briefly here and on another thread (they won't be technical), and in particular, how it compares to the Kowa TSN-773 (bought two days ago), the Swarovski ATS65, and a couple of other scopes I tried when I bought the Kowa.