• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Audubon Equinox (1 Viewer)

slawekpar

Hi

What's your opinion about Audubon Equinox 10x42.
The price $230 seems to be reasonable. But what about quality ?

Thanks in advance

Slawek

slawekpar said:
Hi

What's your opinion about Audubon Equinox 10x42.
The price $230 seems to be reasonable. But what about quality ?

Thanks in advance

Slawek
I've tried those out at a store. I'm not a expert, but I think they are pretty dang good for the price.

I bought the 8X42 version a couple weeks ago...and they are great! The brightness, color, ergonomics and resolution is are as good as units that cost twice as much. Aberration and distortion are kept to a minimum. A waterproof/fogproof set of roof prism bins that focus at less than 6 feet, are bright and have good resolution were unheard of at this price point...before now.

Don't get me wrong, improvements could be made! Resolution and brightness are good, but not like my fathers Nikon Superior E's; they are large and heavy, but not much worse than other 8X42's in the "elite" class; the twist up eye cups work but could have "light shield" cups as an option.

Except for the resolution, minor problems. I think that this is a great entry level bin and hope that Audubon (or anyone) comes out with more like it. (i.e.- good quality at a reasonable price)

Steve-O

Audubon 8x42 equinox