• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Tiny bird seen in north-east Thailand (1 Viewer)

ramjet-1953

Hi, Guys!

I'm no bird expert, but several times now, I have seen a tiny bird here in Nong Bua Lamphu Province in north-east Thailand.

It looks like a Hummingbird, but I have been told they are native to the Americas.

It can hover, and likes to drink nectar from flowers.

When I say tiny, I mean it. This bird when first seen, looks like a large insect, but on closer inspection, you can see it is a bird.

Does anyone know what type of bird it may be?

Regards,
Roger B :)

The smallest birds in Thailand, I believe, are sunbirds. They drink nectar and may sort of hover. Here's a link to a little info on one kind which might be in your area. There are kinds of large moths that people confuse for hummingbirds (called hummingbird moths sometimes), but I don't know if they're found in Thailand.

Olive-backed Sunbird or Purple Sunbird would probably be your best bet in NE Thailand, assuming they aren't in the forests.

The tiny bird in Thailand is Sunbirds, and here are the available species:
  • Crimson Sunbird
  • Brown-throated Sunbird
  • Olive-backed Sunbird
  • Purple Sunbird.
Sunbirds are small birds that field on nectar, which makes them closely related to birds like hummingbirds. They are mostly bright in colour with downward-curved bills.
The most popular species of sunbird in Thailand is the Olive-backed Sunbird. They are widespread across Thailand.

I hope that helps.

Last edited by a moderator: