• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Crete - last week of Sept - too late for summer migrants ? (1 Viewer)

Tony Knight

United Kingdom
Hi

Planning to go to Crete for last week of September (20th - 27th). Will that be too late for the summer migrants, thinking particularly of shrikes, hoopoes, bee-eaters, warblers etc ?

Tony

Once these places get very hot, a lot of the migrants seem to disappear. So late Sept may well be leaving it a bit late, however there may well be other migrants passing through from up north!
I've only been to Crete once, during summer half term, so I'm no expert!

September gets good for migrants. See our website for some information on what species we have seen since 2006 in the "blog archive" section. You will also find more up to date info on our Facebook page Crete-Birding two others on facebook Crete Birdwatching and BIRDS OF CRETE, the last two mostly in Greek. Hope it helps somewhat, have a good trip.
http://www.crete-birding.co.uk/
ColD

I have pasted my Crete Summer report.
I am told Plakias is a good migration area.
There is a river which runs from the centre of town described below- described in the Plakias and the Gorge section.
Apparently this is a good place for migrants:it's certainly got the right habitats-also a top spot to see Griffon Vulture.

The WESTERN HEADLAND described in the Damoni Bay section looked a good bet for migrating birds.
Plenty of coastal scrub and rocky headlands to catch passing birds.
Best of luck!

Actually did more birdwatching than I intended and saw some good species.